The India House List
The India House List
!! Serial Audiobook - Anandamath Episode 1 !!
0:00
-15:25

!! Serial Audiobook - Anandamath Episode 1 !!

Greetings, subscriber!

This Thursday, I decided to do something completely different. How does a podcast episode sound?

Seeing as I’m currently fascinated by the post-1857 pre-WW1 era of Indian history, I reread Ananda Math (Abbey of Bliss) written by Bankim Chandra Chatterjee in 1882. This is one of those books that kickstarted the Indian freedom movement, and gave it its slogan - Vande Mataram (Glory to our Motherland), which is of course the title of our National Song.

I couldn’t find an audiobook of this book, though there’s been several movie versions, and thought, why not do it myself? I’d been procrastinating on this thought for weeks, and decided to bite the bullet and fool around with a mic and Garageband. The result is the first two chapters of this novel.

It was originally written serially, and hence each chapter ends with a cliffhanger. How fun!

This will be what I’ll be posting here for the next few weeks. And hopefully, my diction and audio mixing will get better with time, and subsequent episodes will bring you more joy.

Tell me how you like it, and tell all your friends to sign up and subscribe!

0 Comments
The India House List
The India House List
Serial Audiobooks. Often Indian.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Lila Krishna